by admin

About Us

We are a group of people from the region who are interested and believe in the development of ASEAN. People at the ASEAN Society are solely independent personnel, voicing their own views and thoughts in this web community.

Our Vision

Our vision is to bring together people from the ASEAN member countries, targeting mainly at youth at large and to instill a sense of belonging in the Southeast Asian community. We provide information, personal views, thoughts, and most importantly raise awareness about ASEAN to not only people in this region, but also the whole world. We believe in educating the ‘ASEAN way’ from young. It is our dream that the young at large can be part of our ASEAN society. We aim to create an online platform, promoting growth and integration of ASEAN community, bringing about effective communication and active learning amongst ASEAN people.

Let’s join in and be a part of this ASEAN community.

We start small, but with great goals- Just like ASEAN.



The Association of Southeast Asian Nations or ASEAN was established on 8 August 1967 in Bangkok by the five original Member Countries, namely, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, and Thailand. Brunei Darussalam joined on 8 January 1984, Vietnam on 28 July 1995, Lao PDR and Myanmar on 23 July 1997, and Cambodia on 30 April 1999.

As of 2006, the ASEAN region has a population of about 560 million, a total area of 4.5 million square kilometers, a combined gross domestic product of almost US$ 1,100 billion, and a total trade of about US$ 1,400 billion.

To understand more about ASEAN, visit http://www.asean.org/

ASEAN Member States

Brunei Darussalam

Head of State : His Majesty Sultan Haji Hassanal Bolkiah Mu’izzaddin Waddaulah
Capital : Bandar Seri Begawan
Language(s) : Malay, English
Currency : B$ (Brunei Dollar)
Ministry of Foreign Affairs & Trade of Brunei Darussalam Website: www.mfa.gov.bn


Head of State : His Majesty King Norodom Sihamoni
Head of Government : Prime Minister Hun Sen
Capital : Phnom Penh
Language : Khmer
Currency : Riel
Ministry of Foreign Affairs & International Cooperation of Cambodia Website: www.mfaic.gov.kh


Head of State : President Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono
Capital : Jakarta
Language : Indonesian
Currency : Rupiah
Department of Foreign Affairs of Indonesia Website: www.deplu.go.id


Head of State : President Choummaly Sayasone
Head of Government : Prime Minister Bouasone Bouphavanh
Capital : Vientiane
Language : Lao
Currency : Kip
Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Lao PDR Website: www.mofa.gov.la


Head of Government : The Honourable Dato’ Sri Mohd Najib bin Tun Abdul Razak
Capital : Kuala Lumpur
Language(s) : Malay, English, Chinese, Tamil
Currency : Ringgit
Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Malaysia Website: www.kln.gov.my
ASEAN-Malaysia National Secretariat Website: www.kln.gov.my/myasean


Head of State : Senior General Than Shwe
Head of Government : Prime Minister General Thein Sein
Capital : Nay Pyi Taw
Language : Myanmar
Currency : Kyat
Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Myanmar Website: www.mofa.gov.mm


Head of State : President Benigno S. Aquino III
Capital : Manila
Language(s) : Filipino, English, Spanish
Currency : Peso
Department of Foreign Affairs of the Philippines Website: www.dfa.gov.ph


Head of State : President S R Nathan
Head of Government : Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong
Capital : Singapore
Language(s) : English, Malay, Mandarin, Tamil
Currency : S$ (Singapore Dollar)
Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Singapore Website: www.mfa.gov.sg


Head of State : His Majesty King Bhumibol Adulyadej
Head of Government : Prime Minister Abhisit Vejjajiva
Capital : Bangkok
Language : Thai
Currency : Baht
Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Thailand Website: www.mfa.go.th

Viet Nam

Head of State : President Nguyen Minh Triet
Head of Government : Prime Minister Nguyen Tan Dung
Capital : Ha Noi
Language : Vietnamese
Currency : Dong
Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Viet Nam Website: www.mofa.gov.vn

buy levitra where
(Last updated: 26 August 2010)